top of page

The Boy On The Page



It hurts to know he is not real.

That his fingers could never intertwine with mine on a calm Sunday morning.

That he could not hold me in his arms as he read lines from a leather-bound journal

on a hazy New York evening.


He can only live on the endless papers my ink bleeds on.

Noting every detail of his smile after a sip of bitter coffee or his rosy cheeks after passionate words.

But I could never piece him whole,

as a mortal could never dare embody every feature I pored over for hours,

perfecting every imperfection I deem poetic.


Shall I dream of him standing across a field of hay,

professing his love as they do in an Austen novel?

Or looking up to a stone balcony in the midst of night and lacing the air with literature?


He is within my very grasp,

But a universe away, tucked in the depths of my mind.

He lives a life I dare to dream,

And journeys I long to embark on.

His life, though breathed on a page, is filled with adventure and hope.

While the life I call my own consists of stale coffee and wistful glances out of a stained window that overlooks a world I deem too daunting to explore


He tells me every so often, “Write your own story.”

But how am I to fulfill that when the life I call my own is embedded into his,

when the life I dream to live is not within this morbid reality, but in his world,

where the impossible is reached,

where evils are conquered,

and where I could feel his fingers intertwined with mine


Comments


bottom of page