top of page

for you: my hiraeth



my home of which i can no longer return to


i, the other half of you / take thee, the better half of me

to be my philtatos / in this life and the next


to have and to hold / from this day forward,

to serenade and to stay by / in every sliver of time

for as long as you will let me


for better, for worse / for richer, for poorer,

in poverty and in wealth / in sickness and in health,

no matter the circumstance


and like achilles and patroclus,

not even Death shall do us part

according to our unspoken ordinances,

it will always be you;


therefore i pledge for thee,

my faith and my fate / my everything and my nothing:

i give to you my soul / to cherish for all eternity


and in the case / where Death do us part

i’ll search ‘till you / my world and welkin

are back in my arms / and in the time we adorn

with the music we create together


i, forever yours / vow to stand by your side

even if you are not by mine / even if it is not me

beside you at the altar / because this may be your wedding

but it is not ours.


–––from the one no longer first in your heart

but still can’t let you go


Kommentare


bottom of page