top of page

Her


This piece was published as an honorary mention.


Her smile always carried the sorrow

That I wish to bury down below

That I wish to replace with love

Even when I know that I simply cannot


She held my hands tight

That sweet and warm smile she had

That sorrow shone in her green eyes

The sorrow I can never forget


May I ask what your life lacks

May I take your sorrow away

May I bring your smile back

That smile which leads me astray


Every day, I sat by her

Telling her she’s a work of art

But I still couldn’t make her sorrow blur

The sorrow that always perishes my heart


She left me like I knew she would

She kissed like she thought she should

A farewell one--so soft and gentle

A kiss that my heart could not handle


Every night, I stare at the sky

Smiling, and missing her fairy eyes

The eyes of love, the eyes of beauty

The eyes of sadness, that always pain me


Comments


bottom of page