top of page

Heartbreak


*This post was accepted as an honorary mention.



The stars will say they gave me love

The sun will say she gave me life

The moon will say she gave me form

The planets will say they gave me fate

But you? You gave me nothing but a broken heart


The seas will say they found me purpose

The wind will say they found my soul

The sands will say they found me change

The clouds will say they found me guidance

But you? You found cracks in my carefully built walls


The autumn will say she taught me to value

The winter will say she taught me patience

The spring will say she taught me to bloom

The summer will say she taught me resilience

But you? You taught me who I shouldn’t trust.


I told myself you were truthful

I told myself you were kind

I told myself you were lovely

But I told myself lies

And you? You told me that I should’ve labeled my food


You told me you shouldn’t have eaten it

You told me yes, it was wrong of you,

but maybe I’m taking it too far

You told me if I didn’t want people to eat my leftovers,

I should have put my name on them

You told me you love me so much


But now my food is gone.

And you are telling me that writing this poem is taking it too far?

Well, I can only say this:

I want a refundー

and I want my food back


Comments


bottom of page