top of page

The Field of Lavenders


As I lay in wait for the time to pass, the familiar, aching troubles cross my mind,

I reminisce the last perfect day before it blew up in smoke, and I cannot help wondering if you think back to that night,

Back when we were entranced by the wildest of fantasies; young, innocent, spirited and carefree,

 Full of passion and vigor, we yearned for adventure; we thought the friendship was destiny,

And the scent of magic led us to a field of lavenders, where we swore that our harmony would last forever.

We made a million promises we didn’t know we could not keep; now all that is left are the dying embers,

I see the world through muted colors, as the silent war between us rages on,

Our paradise has withered and you are a ghost of my past; I struggle to make the priceless memories last,

We both could not have been victors in battle, and the castle was never ours to share,

We may have been sisters in another life, but you left me squalling in despair.

If by some miracle I were to see you again, I would gaze upon you with regret and sorrow,

But I would not beg for your forgiveness or ask for gifts not mine to borrow.

I would let the silvery moonlight pave the way, to the place where it all began and the place where I’ll stay,

When the eves of dawn fade into morn, we’ll gaze into the timeless, eternal sun; in the field of lavenders where our hearts had beaten as one


Comments


bottom of page