top of page

Nothing Special

I didn’t see much in him.

If I saw him in a crowd,

 I would not notice.

If I saw him on an Instagram post,

 I would scroll past it.

If he was one of the stars in the sky, 

He would be the least bright.


But he shined so bright when he smiled.


But what’s ironic is that I have

Those same round cheeks,

Those same squinty eyes,

Those same bushy eyebrows,

And that same messy hair. 

So if we were stars in the sky,

He would always outshine me.


And I hold these

Video tapes

And pictures of him

That were never taken.

They hold memories

That were never made,

And moments that never happened,


With him.


Falling asleep to a movie in the living room

Play fighting on the couch

Awkward flirting in the dining room

Deep, late-night conversations in the bedroom

Running into a long, warm hug after school

Showing him my drawings of him in the patio

All of this while avoiding parents from barging in on us.


And these curated memories

They float inside my mind and crash together 

Into what replicates the waves of the seas

That endlessly crash in the shoreline of my mind

Especially next to the car window.

These waves of emotion get scrawled 

Onto every sheet of paper,

Every blank canvas,

And every flat surface,

That I can get my hands on.

Chemistry notebook,

Math worksheets,

Binder paper,

And sketchbooks.

Trying endlessly and unconsciously,

To replicate those same squinty eyes,

Those same cheeks,

That same beard,

And that same smile.

And every time I draw him right,

These waves grow larger 

And crash harder against the shoreline.


And sometimes I wonder 

If he has these same waves.

Even so, I expect what he thinks of me

Is a meek little pond on a rainy day.

Nothing special. Nothing dramatic.

Just sitting lonely on a gloomy day. 


But I still hold onto

Those video tapes and pictures,

Waiting to show you them in person.

In my hand.

Or on a phone screen.

But he’s just another person in the crowd

Another post on Instagram

Another dim star in the sky.


It should be time to scrap those photos in the fire,

Or delete them from my gallery.


Or maybe start saying more than “Hi.” 


Comments


bottom of page