top of page

TANGLED




I’m stuck

Right here,

Right next to you

My head boils and festers

These butterflies made their way from the pit of my stomach

my stomach to the front my head

And it’s giving me a massive migraine

They weigh me down so much

I can’t get my head off my desk anymore

And keep the tears from running from my eyes

The maggots are slowly eating away at my brain and stomach

And I can’t seem to think anything more but—

The dopamine rush

The exhilaration

That you somehow injected into my heart

The butterflies

And maggots

That you shoved down my stomach

Because of course life had to wreck me

And you are my life


I got tangled two months ago

How did you do it?

How did you make me fall for your trap with your

Thick hair

Oval eyes

Baggy clothes

Crooked nose

How did you manage to always make me think about

How your eyes softened

When you asked a question

How I feel listened to

As your soft dark eyes became sharp

When I talked

How you hummed

The same song during class

Your stupid smile

Everything

In a mere two months?

I don’t know

Your presence is a mystery

I don’t even know your last name

But you still managed

To weave me into this mess


And when I try to cut the lines,

Untie the knots,

Gain control,

Gain freedom,

I remain


Tangled.

By you.


I wish I could punch your face then kiss the bruise.


Comments


bottom of page