top of page

only strangers will keep my company





so i’ll stumble on home at 4:37 am


my keys clanging onto the counter

my coat tossed atop the nearest surface


i’ll collapse on the sofa

kick off my six inch heels

giggling all the way through

as the string straps get caught on my ankles


i’ll laugh to myself for a minute

or two

or three

maybe four

then lay my head back

and sigh


i’ll think about the nightclub i just left

the blaring lights and deafening remixes

the drinks i nursed

just a shot

or two

or three

probably four

and the stranger i kissed


handsome, sure

but not you

it will never be you


then i’ll force myself off the couch

pour myself a glass of water

wish it was tequila

wobble my way towards the bathroom

and glance longer at the clock than at my mascara


i’ll wonder about things

what to eat tomorrow

the state of our economy

when my amazon package will arrive

how you’re doing


and i’ll collapse on my bed

stare at the wallpaper


count: one, two, three, and

four


let the tears start to fall

curl around a pillow

and wish it was you.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page