top of page

My Darling Sylph Girl



We’re here again, the empty classroom drenched in light

& the songs from the jukebox winding down the hallway.

Little arsonist, sylph-girl, you’re gorgeous when you’re flushed,

Leaning against the wall with matchstick light in your eyes.

You’re reading “Jabberwocky” in science class & with that

Sweet lilt, you make nonsensical poetry sound sensical.

I’m watching you from the blackboard & all I can think about

Is the way your floral miniskirt matches your perfume.

You steep the morning in the scent of cherry-vanilla

& it makes me lightheaded when you smile like that,

Perfectly careless with your little lipsticked mouth.

The most important things I learn in science class

Will be the anatomy of an outstretched hand,

The chemistry of attraction, the physics of magnetism,

& how you shouldn’t chase things that will never be yours.

In every scene & daydream, I reach out

but darling, I still can’t grasp you.


コメント


bottom of page