top of page

[Honorary Mentions] Failed Fledgling




I sit and gaze at the sky, a familiar place

The clouds moving at an alarming pace

The sun’s intense rays inflict burns

So I turn my head and focus on the worms


They wriggle and writhe, covered in grime

I close my eyes and pretend it's sublime

I swallow and choke and eat and eat

But the hunger never recedes

I shovel and cram helplessly into my beak

The view above seems more and more bleak


My meal has ended yet I crave much more

I peek over the edge as I have so many times before

I take a deep breath and imagine what it feels like to soar

The wind in my feathers, the new sights to explore…

But it's a terribly long fall from the top

So my eternal perch from above cannot stop


My stomach churns

My chest starts to burn

It’s a forest fire that never stops–

Yet I've always timidly sat and watched

Until the bark charred and the branches broke

And the sky filled with thick black smoke

And I wheeze and huff as my lungs close

But I dig my claws into my nest

And sit as I neglect my mess


I move the shells out of the way

And find an empty space to lay

I sing a fleeting little song

Not too loud and not too strong

Filled with devastating normalcy

Yet all I do is lie down remorsefully


The comforting burning rumbles in my chest

The inferno engulfs what is left


Comments


bottom of page