top of page

Heterochromia

Heterochromia - heh·tr·ow·krow·mee·uh

A condition in which the colored part of the eye (iris) is multicolored.



I don’t have a favorite color.


Not when it comes to eyes, anyway.

I don’t see a variety in them.

Each iris was the same as its twin

Copy and pasted is how they all feel.


Boring.


Nothing is exciting or interesting about people.

I almost got used to the black-and-white of it all,

until he shattered my reality.

destroyed my world,

And turned it right-side up.


Heterochromia, that’s what he had.

And they were the most beautiful thing I had ever seen.

No solid color, no single definition.


I met him next to the pale green olive tree,

The big, sturdy one at the park.

And even in his black hoodie,

colors were beaming from him.


I used to stare at other people’s eyes,

to find something different

but when he looked up at me, I couldn’t hold my gaze for long.


In the time I looked I couldn’t comprehend

how many shades an eye can hold.

He had hazel-green eyes,

But I swear they had all the colors imaginable.


I walked away quickly, never seeing him again.


I don’t have a favorite color,

because there are too many to choose;

Everything feels bright

And never dull.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page