top of page

With Confidence




Be modest.

Be bold.

Be rebellious, and honest.

But obey, and stay in your place.


Look pleasant.

Don’t slouch.

Hold your head high.

Be confident.

Look like the most powerful woman in the room.


“... and most importantly,” my mother said calmly, "remember to smile.” She set an example with her own grin.

I replied with a meek slight smile, barely passing less of a smile and more of a grimace. She gently held my face and raised it to face hers.

“With confidence!”

I grinned, showing every single tooth. I suddenly felt like laughing at her face.

“Erm.. tone it down.”

I dropped my smile just so that my top row of teeth is shown. I fought the temptation to grind my teeth with a tight jaw.

“Perfect.”

She let go of my face and stood straight. With it, my face dropped to its usual look. Droopy eyes, a crooked nose, and lips so small it can barely be seen up close. She stared into my eyes blankly, which usually meant her thoughts were racing so much she didn’t have the energy to show it.


“You don’t seem happy about your marriage.”

She continued to stare at me. I smiled, holding back my tongue.

“What do you mean?”

She walked behind my chair to fix the messy part of my hair.

“Well, this is your future and I am worried that you won’t be happy in it.”

She hugged my shoulders and leaned over, her face against mine. We both stared at the mirror. She smiled.

“You are happy… right?”

She stared at me through the mirror, waiting for approval. I forced a rictus smile. “Yeah.”

I paused.

“Yeah, I’m happy.”




Comments


bottom of page